Call to Banksy to start blogging!

Banksy is a graffiti artist from Bristol, UK, whose artwork has appeared around the world.

“The time of getting fame for your name on its own is over. Artwork that is only about wanting to be famous will never make you famous. Any fame is a by-product of making something that means something. You don’t go to a restaurant and order a meal because you want to have a shit.”

Check out a flickr pool of his work here and visit his website here

Come on Banksy start up your own blog so we can follow along with your wild and crazy graffiti goodness!

10

UPDATE: This is an image banksy produced December 25, 2005, and which he may have alluded to in the comments below

(via)


56 Responses to “Call to Banksy to start blogging!”

  1. yaruski Says:

    Worst idea ever. Trust nobody!

  2. stealbelow Says:

    It would be done in such a way to keep his identify secret. He already has a website. He has FAQ’s. New pictures of his work are updated on the website. It’s just one more way to communicate his messages.

    Thanks for the comment 🙂
    It’s my first one ever.

  3. Banksy Says:

    Why follow my dynasty instead of creating your own…

  4. stealbelow Says:

    Perhaps my destiny calls for me to persuade you to start blogging..and maybe it is the destiny of someone to see your blog and maybe his destiny is to one day make great things happen because of your influence??

    or maybe not..

    Either way – It’d be sweet to follow along and get to know you and get real time information about you and your work…I think it would do LOTS to spread your message and create an even bigger following 🙂

    Cheers

    ps..if this is the real Banksy – man is this blogosphere amazing…how else would I get the chance to trade comments with such an undercover subject..hey if you are interested I’d love to do a quick interview with you and post it up on here? What do you say?

  5. Banksy Says:

    I like your first paragraph stealbelow, are you a philosopher or something??

    In answer to your questions, I can’t “blog,” do quick interviews, give information about myself or anything which threatens my anonymousness (yes it’s a word) so I hope you understand that the answer’s a no.

    For now I’m grateful for your interest especially after now being considered a “sell-out” by so many.

    Thanks and keep your eye on my site,

    Banksy (believe it or not)

  6. stealbelow Says:

    I still love your work but I found out who you are. Want me to post the pictures?

  7. stealbelow Says:

    I didn’t mean that to sound threatening :S

    I mean to say that I can if you don’t believe me?

  8. wanksy Says:

    stealbelow…. dont be a cock!

  9. stealbelow Says:

    Okay okay…I won’t post them…BUT the cat is already out of the bag is it not?

  10. Banksy Says:

    how did you find them?? apparently there are quite a few sources.

  11. stealbelow Says:

    I usually find what I’m looking for 🙂

    Once something is available on the net…it’s pretty much impossible to keep contained.

    I won’t link to any info Banksy unless you are interested?

  12. stealbelow Says:

    Hey Banksy – Am I fortunate enough to receive a response to a recent post of my concerning some Sony hired graffiti artists?

    https://stealbelow.wordpress.com/2005/12/03/sonys-fony-graffiti/

  13. Banksy Says:

    ust left a comment =) and stealbelow, don’t post the actual links but i’m just wondering what the evidence was?? CCTV footage?? fingerprints?? what??

  14. stealbelow Says:

    Several photographs taken by a particular hater.

    Thanks for the response on the Sony post.

    I’m starting to get some traffic on here for a couple posts that got on digg.com

  15. me Says:

    lol u arnt talking to banksy, its just someone pretending to be him…………

  16. stealbelow Says:

    Okay okay…I appreciate the skeptisism…Are there people out there bored enough to spend weeks pretending to be Banksy? Yes probably. Is this the the real Banksy? Possibly. Any suggestions for how we can prove it one way or the other?

  17. Banksy Says:

    I don’t see why I should prove it; if you believe me then you believe me, if you don’t, you don’t

    p.s. look out for some Christmas themed work on the streets this month… particularly London

  18. stealbelow Says:

    Can I have some input into the Christmas themed work?? I’m a bit of an artist myself. It would be very cool if we could collaborate and then I could see a piece I contributed to up in london?

    Think about it and let me know 🙂

  19. Pay Attention To Me! » W3b Service5 Xm45 Wysh L1st Says:

    […] I want to collaborate with Banksy on a Christmas piece in London. Banksy say’s: “p.s. look out for some Christmas themed work on the streets this month… particularly London” (read the comments) […]

  20. Banksy Says:

    stealbelow, I’m always up for collab pieces, got any examples of your work on the net??

  21. stealbelow Says:

    This would be the perfect opportunity to get some insight into how you go about conceptualizing the messages you set out to present through your work.

    Any thoughts on the angle that you are planning on approaching this Christmas with?

    I’ll jump in and show you my take on it from my artistic perspective and if you think its up to par we can take it from there (I don’t think you’ll be disappointed).

  22. stealbelow Says:

    I can’t help but feel like the lack of response indicates that this is not really Banksy.

    Oh my. I’ve been had.

  23. Jedi Says:

    kind of funny how “Banksys” first comment the link he gave was http://www.banksy.com…. cute kids 🙂

  24. stealbelow Says:

    Good eye Jedi – could have been a slip up…I just correct my own typo in the first word of this post also..so not necessarily proof…but I think you may be right

  25. stealbelow Says:

    Man I suck. I titled the Post Bansky..But it should read Banksy..but if I change it..it will muck things up..ah well… 😛

  26. Banksy Says:

    Reality is nothing…

  27. Jedi Says:

    Indeed it could’ve been a “slip-up”, but honostly, ever mess up the url of your own site?

  28. stealbelow Says:

    Hmm.. for example, see this back and forth by a reputable internet junkie (Jason Calacanis):

    Reader Comments
    (Page 1 of 2)

    1. Psst, you mis-spelled your own last name (email). 😉

    Posted at 5:29 PM ET on Mar 2, 2005 by Devin Reams 0 stars

    2. thanks… typo

    Posted at 5:53 PM ET on Mar 2, 2005 by Jason 0 stars

    Here is the link..its the first comment
    http://www.calacanis.com/2005/10/22/jasons-schedule-speaking-gigs-meetings-etc/

  29. Jedi Says:

    haha, You really know how to prove your point don’t you kid?
    and nice blog by the way!
    I’ll check back here to see if “Banksy” says anything else…

  30. Banksy Says:

    Hope everyone liked the Christmas pieces! I’m really sorry stealbelow but I just wasn’t feeling up for a collab.

    Oh and btw, the piece shown above isn’t the only Christmas themed stencil i sprayed, there’s a few more but I guess they haven’t really been noticed yet.

    p.s. the “Reality is nothing… ” bullshit posted above wasn’t me, fucking fakers.

  31. Pay Attention To Me! » Blog Archive » Montreal’s Own Banksy Fined for Street Art - Roadsworth Says:

    […] The Canadian answer to Britain’s Banksy, is none other than Montreal’s Roadsworth. His work is discreet yet full of political and social commentary. He turns crosswalks into giant footprints, traffic lines into heartbeat monitor rhythms. He also recently faced 51 counts of mischief, which could have lead to fines ranging from $10,200 to $255,000. (via) […]

  32. stealbelow Says:

    Hey Banksy…no worries about the collabo…feel free to send a few pointers to some of the Christmas works….that goes for an visitors as well!

  33. theotokos Says:

    I agree, making a blog would be a total waste of time. No artist deserves celebrity attention, especially if what we truly admire is the artwork that the artist makes. Art is a construction ground for new work and new ideas – no idea is an end all. Make your own art. Spread the disease!

  34. Conner Says:

    Bansky, your a genius..

  35. Roadsworth Says:

    I was not fines the amounts you claim. lol

    Roadsworth –

  36. Robert banks Says:

    THE REAL BANSKY

    Sorry sir…I know about that link but I choose not to include it…Bansky asked me nicely  🙂

  37. THE REAL BANKSY Says:

    http://www.afflictedyard.com/busted.htm

    click the link fo r a picture of the real banksy

  38. THE REAL BANKSY Says:

    Im on to you Banksy boy! – ill find you

  39. Banksy Says:

    Haha, you really have no idea, son.

  40. spell Says:

    i love you banksy really you are the big artist I LOVE YOU im mexican grapher

  41. spell Says:

    i love you really you are tha best artist of tha world next of atlas

  42. Seaweed Says:

    hey banksy.. i dont know if it really matters who you are.. i guess in some sense people would like to know who you are so, that they can be cool.. .. anyways keep up the good work.. hope no one every finds out who you are.. because thats some major jail time and fines.. i had my share i spent 6 months in jail for tagging….. take care man… p.s.. i sthat really your myspace?

  43. iamhere... Says:

    it’s useless, the mystery cannot be penetrated because its there in the first place; no matter how much you speculate about who banksy is or what he looks like or if its actually him posting on this thread your convictions are subverted becaue the seeds of doubt are there in the first place. anonimity can bluff you and the mystique sucks you in.

    heavyweight writer though, wall and piece is the most inspiring book i own.

    easy…

  44. Firingblanksy Says:

    Banksy is cool, well motivated and talented artist. I wish I had his talent to spout off political diatribe in artform… but I dont so I guess two fingers up to the cops woll have to do.

  45. box400.com :: Banksy Says:

    […] Request for Banksy to start blogging! […]

  46. kafrin Says:

    ok “iamhere” you are seriously scary, as soon as i started thinking about what you wrote it just screwed up my head haha that was some crazy sh*t.
    as for if blogger “banksy” is actually BANKSY or the REAL BANKSY reads these blog things then dude you are a legend even if you do get busted, christ that will never happen ‘cos your too good for that!, but if you did then wouldn’t it be worth it to have caused all this controversy*”not sure if thats right??”* over loads of artwork!!

  47. AIWL Says:

    Banksy, think you could hit up Milwaukee sometime? It would be worth having to drive through…

  48. Josh Record Says:

    hello,

    stealbelow i am interested to see what banksy looks like. please reply and email me with links : ) much apprichiated.

    – Josh

  49. derglobalenotstand.com Says:

    If you are going for best contents like myself, just pay a quick visit this web site
    daily since it presents quality contents, thanks

  50. Garrett Says:

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This paragraph posted at this web page
    is in fact pleasant.

  51. hotmail account creator w-proxy support microsoft office 2007 Says:

    There are over 50 important facial muscles, but a handful of
    enjoyable exercises can work them into a state
    of improved tone and looks. Take a trusted friend shopping
    and try on all sorts of styles and colors until you find which ones are most flattering on you.

    Some advantages of running is that it is a very basic human movement to which the
    body adapts and becomes efficient with very quickly.
    Our Swetler Sweat Suits are designed to ensure minimal air flow is allowed
    in or out of the suit creating a rise in temperature within the
    Swetler Sweat Suit known as the “sauna effect” the suits are
    also referred to as Sweat Suits. In the last 3 years since going to the gym, treadmilling 3-4 miles a day and
    light weight workout, I have increased my Tcells from 300 to 815.

  52. Houston drug treatment Says:

    This is really fascinating, You are a very professional blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and sit up for in the hunt for more of your fantastic
    post. Additionally, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks

  53. Gym dating Says:

    Its not my first time to visit this site, i am browsing this web site dailly and obtain nice facts from
    here everyday.

  54. Webster Says:

    Just wish to say your article is as amazing.
    The clarity for your publish is just excellent and i could assume you’re an expert in this subject.
    Fine with your permission let me to grasp your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thank you a million and please continue the gratifying work.

  55. Corine Says:

    you are truly a excellent webmaster. The website loading speed is amazing.
    It kind of feels that you’re doing any unique trick.
    Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a
    excellent activity in this topic!


Leave a Reply

