Ted Leonis – The American Dream

The American Dream

If you don’t know who Ted Leonis is (and I didn’t up until Calacanis posted about him a while ago) -I think you should get to know him.

By leonsisted@aol.com

Yesterday, I spent some time visiting with Jonathan Bulkeley, a former employee and a good friend of mine who is now a venture capitalist.  During the call, he reminded me of a conversation we had several years ago.

While traveling together on a business trip, I asked him if the Bulkeley Bridge that runs from New York City to Connecticut was named after his family.  He told me it was, and then I asked about his family background.  Just like his father, grandfather, and great-grandfather, Jonathan had gone to Yale University.  One of his ancestors, Morgan Bulkeley, served as the first president of baseball’s National League, was elected Governor of Connecticut, and served as a U.S. Senator.

Jonathan then asked me about my family, and I explained that my Dad was a waiter in a restaurant, that my grandfather emigrated from Greece and was an employee in a shoe tannery in Lowell, MA, and that I was the first person in my family to graduate from college.  I had to admit that I didn’t know anything about my great-grandfather, but promised that I’d try to find out.

My dad didn’t have any more information than I did, but he wrote some letters to the old country, and a few months later we had our answer.  It turns out that my great-grandfather was a goat herder who spent his days chasing goats across the Greek countryside.

That’s one of the things I love about this country.  Regardless of your background the American Dream is open to all.

Is this a great country or what?(link)

One Response to “Ted Leonis – The American Dream”

  1. shelley johnson Says:

    I tried to contact the corporate office of AOL and was told there is no contact info what so ever. I was given an address of which no telephone number exists. I have been treated so badly trying in vain to get help for a small business I have and have been a member of AOL for at least 7 years. I have been hung up on, ditched and given wrong contact info for days. AOL is the worst run company I have ever encountered. I’m disgusted and fed up with AOL where all your employee’s sound like zombies. (unless you speak to employees at night who are in India and can’t speak english) Ted Leonis is a figure head hiding behind thousands of employees that don’t know what in the world their doing. Anyone that has hopes for a company (Ted Leonis) that he can’t even be reached at is not just kidding himself but all members of AOL. I am going elsewhere for my little business and can guarantee Mr. Leonis that he should begin to look for a better job. With a company run this horribly the downfall of AOL is just around the corner.

    Shelley Johnson a really fed up AOL member
    240 264 3452


Leave a Reply

